Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 24 – The Frost

Year 2: Day 24 – The Frost

The last time I saw the frost
I was on live TV.

You said to smile for the camera
but I couldn’t do it-

one too many people watching.

But under my little jacket
there was so much warmth
that nobody else deserved

and this year
since nobody’s watching,
I’m going to give it all away.

No, I couldn’t
make the news again
if I tried;
but as long as nobody
asks for a smile
they’ll get one.

 

Don’t forget to check out my first anthology, Candy Pizza: Poetry that’s Fun and Healthy, available on Amazon & Kindle.

 

5 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 24 – The Frost

  1. Well put. And that last line
    “but as long as nobody
    asks for a smile
    they’ll get one.” something which happens with me too.

    Feeling great to visit your page.
    Cheers.

  2. Hello Charlotte. Your poems are lovely. There is a lot of wit and imagery which stands out, and I can sense that you have a good sense of humour, too. I’ll keep checking back. Thanks very much for stopping by my site also.

Leave a Reply

