Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 30 – Jeans

Year 2: Day 30 – Jeans

It’s not like I do it on purpose,
but every time I wear jeans
it turns out to be
some solemn holiday at work
where you’re supposed to wear
slacks

or if you’re really a responsible woman, I guess,
a skirt.

I could say that I’m forgetful,
and ain’t it the cryin’ truth,
but my heart really wants
to be a lady,
so I don’t know.

I don’t wanna think about
some latent subconscious rebellion
that looks in the closet
and says “it’s a ratty sneaker day,
there’s nothing going on.”

I don’t wanna think about
how I don’t even do it on purpose
but every time I wear my proper skin
it turns out to be
a sin.

 

Don’t forget to check out my first anthology, Candy Pizza: Poetry that’s Fun and Healthy, available on Amazon & Kindle.

 

4 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 30 – Jeans

  1. Whoa! surprise ending for “Jeans” did not see that coming and that is what I like best of all. And that it is not an arbitrary word, just to shock a reader, it really sums ups the direction, intent and a more cognitive influence in rereading this poem. Whoa. Thanks for the ripcurl wave!

Leave a Reply

