Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 31 – Until The Chinese Food Gets Here

Year 2: Day 31 – Until The Chinese Food Gets Here

He said “Do you love me?”
with his outstretched hands
but I was busy with my phone.

His eyebrows knit together
in frustration, he persisted,
but I was counting my cash.

He asked me again,
his face looking all sad,
but I pretended to hear the door.

How could I tell him
that game is lost to me,
that I’m broken on that stuff
and can’t be bothered?

But his anxious hands held mine
and those eyes would’ve broken
the heart that I don’t have-

He said, “Do you love me?”
and I said, “Yes,
until the Chinese food gets here.”

 

Don’t forget to check out my first anthology, Candy Pizza: Poetry that’s Fun and Healthy, available on Amazon & Kindle.

 

5 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 31 – Until The Chinese Food Gets Here

  1. I can feel the emotional anguish in this poem, that need not be performed in some high drama. [And I like the parallel of love and that which is consumed.] Real anguish is in every day life, where the hesitation against such a crucial question is, in itself, the answer.

Leave a Reply

