Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 34 – Because I Refused

Year 2: Day 34 – Because I Refused

I don’t stand on the corner
with picket signs
to warn against what I lost.

I’m a hundred and twenty years old
and I know better.

I stand on the rocks
at the edge of the sea,
unmoved,
though all around
is breaking.

I stand in the rain
and watch the window shades flip-
the neighbors want to know
who died
because they can’t see a smile
from so far
in dry dark.

I stand alone
on a mountaintop
I scaled with my bare hands
to find peace
in the cities below.

I stand
because I know
what I’ve lived for;

I stand
because I refused
to fall.

8 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 34 – Because I Refused

  1. “I stand alone
    on a mountaintop
    I scaled with my bare hands
    to find peace
    in the cities below.” – awesome!
    And
    “I stand because I refused to fall.” — super awesome!!

    🙂 Loved the whole poetry though.

  2. I immediately identify with “scaled with my bare hands” which brings to the surface the memory of the cuts and scraps that injured my hands while climbing over rocks at Orient Point. Captured by that verse, it caused a pause to reflect on the physical preoccupations surrounding the invisible source of Being. Our hands, at times, the source of “what I have done and what I have failed to do.” But the memory of scaling “with my bare hands” is truly a good memory of joy, fearlessness and wonder and if “agere sequitur esse” or “action follows being” what has followed sore, aching hands which communed with Mother Earth, is a fleeting hint of where I stand with me, and the ability to keep standing despite and in spite of our injuries.

    Whew, it can really be hard.

Leave a Reply

