Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 40 – Spartans

Year 2: Day 40 – Spartans

I imagine that Spartans
still probably
picked raspberries
and talked about
their feelings.

I’m pretty sure that Sampson
had to lie on the couch
and eat chicken soup
sometimes.

But I don’t allow
that stuff
for me.

I’m always accidentally
without an umbrella,
and I never tie my scarf
tight enough,
and my boots get
soaked through
and I’m starting to think
I’m no accident
at all.

If Samson caught cold
in the desert rain,
who am I to be taking
short lunches?

And if Spartans got help
when the sadness came,
how can I stand alone
and deny myself
any raspberries?

2 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 40 – Spartans

Leave a Reply

