Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 44 – Melted Cheese

Year 2: Day 44 – Melted Cheese

My love for you is like
a glass of wine after work,
is like melted cheese on the weekends,
five days of plowing through greenery
to deserve what I don’t deserve.

In my office my dreams are of
me-mamaroni and you-paparoni
while a curtain of melted cheese pours down,
tucking us into golden sleep.

I wanna stick on the couch
and wake up a cat
and wash your face
and fold your socks
and hold a paintbrush
between my paws.

There’s a thing about holding it together
like a pants-button after dinner,
that when you let it go
it’s like a flood.

My love for you is like a flood
of melted cheese on the weekends,
and we are spoons
and you are a bowl
we collect into
and I am a sigh
of relief.

7 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 44 – Melted Cheese

Leave a Reply

