Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 51 – The Road To Almost

Year 2: Day 51 – The Road To Almost

The road to Almost is paved in silk,
smooth to a slide
straight into a city
where life is so very easy.

I don’t even know
how many lives
I could lead there.

I asked a wise man
how to get to Certain
and he said there was
no such place,
so I asked how to get
to Close Enough
and he said it’s right on
the border of Almost,
touching,
but nobody wants
to go there.

I sighed and said
I won’t go Anywhere
but he said I was
already there.

And I smiled and told him
I’d rather be Anywhere
than on the road
to Almost.

7 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 51 – The Road To Almost

  1. Conceptually eloquent, in how this piece illustrates the daily striving as revealing the fruits of our labors, and yet there is no struggle to relate to the personal topic of wondering if it is all in vain. But then recognize the “wondering”, itself, as not being in vain.

  2. It can imply that there are a variety possibilities and outcomes (good and bad), but it is the situation a person should be in, at that exact time, before reassessing and going on.

Leave a Reply

