Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 64 – Social Circles

Year 2: Day 64 – Social Circles

I get in
these social circles
where nothing I have is important to say
but then God gave me a voice
so I use it anyway
and start to hope that it’s breaking through,
enough to break me out of these
social circles
I get in

these social circles,
turn off the computer, turn off the phone,
and think that enlightenment is only true
when you don’t need to tell anyone about it
and then get excited and tell everyone
these social circles
I broke through

these social circles
I get in
where I need cardboard people in the photo,
need to say hello to all sixteen,
need to support their art
and remember their birthdays,
need them to know that I’m
not just another butterfly trapped
in these social circles
I get in

6 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 64 – Social Circles

  1. There are times I wonder how I end up in the circles I do. Sure, I place myself in some, others, however.. I am just dumbfounded. And those tend to be the ones I try to impress the most… dumbfounded I say.

Leave a Reply

