Home » Other Writing » 2014 Resolutions Roundup

2014 Resolutions Roundup

Hi all,

I hope everyone had a wonderful and safe New Year celebration last night πŸ™‚ I love the ideas of reflection and renewal that the new year brings, and I’ve always been big on the tradition of making resolutions, so I thought I would take this opportunity to share my progress this past year. I usually make my goals pretty subjective and malleable because y’know, life happens. I don’t like to make just one resolution because there are many different aspects of life to be taken into account. For 2014, my resolutions were:

1.) Read voraciously (Mental growth) – I made an effort to read more after several instances of being asked about the last book I read and not being able to recall when it was. Initially my goal was 15 novels, and when that was quickly surpassed, the goal doubled to 30. My end-of-year total is 52 (thanks to Goodreads for helping me keep track!) I shouldn’t have really been surprised at how easily I was able to make time for reading, but I guess that’s how it is for most things. Unless we make a conscious effort, important things can fall to the way side almost imperceptibly.

2.) Stay hydrated (Physical health) – I was in the hospital for a kidney stone in 2013, so this one was more of a “must do” than a “want to do”, but it morphed into a workout plan that I kept up with pretty well. I did the Couch-to-5k running program and became quite familiar with the gym at my complex, which is becoming more necessary for this junk-food lover as I get older. I don’t believe in weighing or measuring myself, but my doctor says I’m good and I feel great, so mission accomplished.

3.) Go back to school (Career) – I have a Bachelor’s in Elementary Ed but I wanted to explore different options for a Master’s Degree. I was accepted to a Library Sciences grad degree, but due to financial reasons, current workload, and my ever-changing mind, grad school is on hiatus for now. But as far as the goal, I consider it accomplished, as much as it could’ve been this year.

4.) Write that book (Passions/Hobbies)
5.) Finish 365 Poetry Project in September (Passions/Hobbies) – These two go hand-in-hand, and I hardly think I have to explain, but this is how Candy Pizza was born. Yep, crushed two goals into one, kaboom πŸ˜‰

So, what are my goals for this year?

1.) Read through the entire Bible (Mental & Spiritual growth)
2) Stay hydrated & exercise regularly (Physical health)
3) Write another book (Passions/Hobbies)
4) Teaching re-certification and Library certification (Career)
5) Stay off Facebook for a year (Social & Mental health)

So now I’m accountable to the entire internet world to get this stuff done – check back this time next year to see if I nailed it πŸ˜‰

So I’m curious, what are some of your goals? Are you generally successful with yours or do you prefer to play the year by ear? If you do set a goal this year, I wish you the best in your endeavors!

Blessings and happy reading,
Char

5 thoughts on “2014 Resolutions Roundup

  1. You certainly accomplished your goals in 2014. I wish you tons of success in achieving your goals for this year. I accomplished a lot in 2014 too, not the least of which was getting my father’s book published. That was quite a challenge because I had no idea what I was doing. πŸ™‚ The next phase of that challenge is promoting the book and hope and pray sales will shoot through the roof so maybe my father will finally believe that he is a great writer, and earn him enough in royalties that he and my mother will be able to live more comfortably in their twilight years. I also learned how to make a quilt last year and made 4 of them as Christmas gifts which were very well received. In addition I also took care of my 10 year old dog who had to have surgery, and shortly after his recovery my husband went in for knee replacement surgery. Also took care of the garden pretty much by myself from planting to weeding and watering. Yep, it was a very busy year and I think 2015 will be about the same. Hope you have a very Happy New Year and good luck with all your goals!

  2. Hi!

    I hope that you have a really great year! My resolutions when it came to writing were to write more frequently and more consistently update my blog.
    -Physically (and technically mentally), I really should try to take better care of myself, and try to sleep regularly despite whatever workload may be thrown my way.

    I just wanted to say “thank you” in person, but I did give you a shoutout here:
    http://theodditywriter.wordpress.com/2014/12/31/2014-in-review/

    Thank you for all the great poetry (and flash fiction and other articles). I look forward to your future work.

  3. Congratulations on everything you achieved in 2014! Sounds like a fantastic year for you. I wish you all the best with your goals for 2015 :). I’m still working mine out, lol. I ended up scrapping my entire list and going with two simple goals. I think. Unless I change my mind again.

  4. Those are all awesome goals, Charlotte! You should read through the Bible in a new version. I’m doing that this year with the Geneva Bible. It’s a sobering experience.

  5. I’ve set loose “guidelines” for previous years, but this is the first year I’ve sat down and really outlined a set of goals I want to accomplish. It’s exciting and a little bit nerve wracking! Congratulations on all your accomplishments in 2014, and best of luck in the new year!

Leave a Reply

