Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 93 – The Idiosyncratic Method

Year 2: Day 93 – The Idiosyncratic Method

It’s how some humans learn they have power,
the way we slam our fists if we can-
if something feels foreign and scary
we’ll probably do it.

If we stand by our method, we stand in the fire
of what we thought we never would,
we embrace the discomfort and make it
a compass to live by.

And in this way we keep the flames bright
in an endless circle of growth,
adjusting to the light at the window,
then turning on purpose to dark.

So I can’t even say how long this idiosyncrasy’s going to last,
but if I know the force that’s carrying me off,
I know it’ll bring me back.

3 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 93 – The Idiosyncratic Method

  1. I use word prompts very, VERY rarely, but the word “idiosyncrasy” was given to me as a challenge and it took me a week of mental churning to settle whether I could produce something satisfactory. I guess that’s why people use word prompts to challenge themselves but cheese, man, it’s not fun. But I had to do it because I didn’t want to.

    The fact that the poem ended up being about this very feeling is very Twilight Zone-ish to me.

  2. Beautiful, Charlotte! Reblogged to my new blog, https://transcendencesingularity.wordpress.com If you follow me there, I can make you an author. I will check now to see if I follow you and if not, I SHALL AT ONCE, with apologies. You are a wonderfully talented poet. I am a poet too. Published a major international sonnet anthology in 2013. Can send you a PDF copy free if you like. Best Richard. Canada

  3. Reblogged this on Transcendence & the Singularity and commented:
    Beautiful, Charlotte! Reblogged to my new blog, https://transcendencesingularity.wordpress.com If you follow me there, I can make you an author. I will check now to see if I follow you and if not, I SHALL AT ONCE, with apologies. You are a wonderfully talented poet. I am a poet too. Published a major international sonnet anthology in 2013. Can send you a PDF copy free if you like. Best Richard. Canada

Leave a Reply

