Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 98 – The Right Words

Year 2: Day 98 – The Right Words

I’m sure I’ll find them someday,
the right words I’ve been searching for
my whole life-
there is something I need to say
and I keep on trying.

There is a thing in my stomach
that lurches up
and grips my heart so tightly;
it forces me to try and try
to speak.

But it doesn’t kill;
it pushes me, gentle and firm,
to search for the voice I need,
the paths that I must travel
to find the words
I’ll have to say.

There is no chore, there is no duty,
there is no disciplined regime;
it’s just what you do when you know
you’re meant to do it.

But it squeezes me and
makes me weak,
compelled to try and
halfway hope
I’ll ever find the right words
in the end.

5 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 98 – The Right Words

  1. “If I find in myself desires that nothing in this world can satisfy, then the only logical explanation is that I was made for another world.” C.S. Lewis. “The Un-invented Word” which will always be un-invented and is beautiful in the knowledge that there is some desire to be fulfilled. But, reciprocally, in locating it, there announces a huge disappointment, like the end of a good story given clearly defined limitations of a beginning, middle and end. But “The Un-Invented Word” relates a satisfaction in embracing the unfulfilled desire that keeps us exploring new destinations. “My heart will always be restless, until it rests in thee,” St. Augustine. It seems to me, you found the right words in not finding them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

