Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 100 – Something Stronger Than Love

Year 2: Day 100 – Something Stronger Than Love

I have my teeth in this idea
that there is something stronger than love
but I don’t know what to call it
just yet.

It’s this kindredness that doesn’t need love,
doesn’t worry about the trappings of this world-
no breathless romance, no hand-holding highs,
no jealous fevers-
it’s a thing that is strong for being not love,
but which stands outside of love
and watches with a smile.

For it is not threatened by the work of the heart;
I think it’s a work of the mind,
but I’m not sure.

Because it’s not something you can think
into existence,
you sort of find it but never try to catch it,
it neither blooms nor fades with time
nor ever changes
but stands resolute in what it knows.

And it knows that love does not conquer all.
It knows that love is wonderful
but cannot erase the yearnings
of a restless mind
which still feels alone.

I have a feeling it’s not love
but understanding that we want,
but we don’t know it.
But I don’t know.

I think this thing that trumps love
is the thing you feel
when you hear your own heart
in someone else’s words.
I think it’s when you know you’re not crazy,
when you know you’re not alone.

That’s not love.
It’s much more important than that.
At least, that’s the way it feels.
But I don’t know.

8 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 100 – Something Stronger Than Love

  1. Sometimes I write these poems that are just like, “Man I wish I had better skills because I am not at all satisfied with this.” But it’s the best I can do right now. Blurgh, ever onward.

  2. It’s good that you wrote it. You can always circle around and write it another way next time if you are not satisfied. I liked it. I was thinking on the topic the whole way down to the end.

  3. This is beautiful… And relatable. I often find myself wanting to reorganize and reword all of my writings–sometimes they need to be left as they are. Im glad you left it. It seems honest and raw–the idea was conveyed perfectly (at least to me). Anyways, I’m done with my little tangent. Thank you for sharing your words with the world!

Leave a Reply

