Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 101 – Life In The Grandfather Chair

Year 2: Day 101 – Life In The Grandfather Chair

It happened slowly,
what all of us evidently now accept-
that I wouldn’t have to lift a finger around here
anymore.

All I did was sit;
I picked the red velour Grandfather Chair
that sits in the middle of the empty stage
and took out a book to read,
but I’ve done it often.

And they come,
they come as if summoned, as if
keeping an appointment, as if drawn,
four or five at a time who couldn’t stand to leave
without greeting.

And they leave
as soon as the conversation dies,
they let me go back to my book in peace,
they know what the quiet means to me,
and what my time has meant for them.

All I’ve done
was speak softly,
have a demeanor of calm, stay out
of the idle talk and resist the temptation
for theatrics.

In short,
I have assumed the characteristics
of a person who’d belong in the Grandfather Chair,
and it seems the rewards of that life
have come to me.

4 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 101 – Life In The Grandfather Chair

  1. I found this poem very inspiring. It has given me ideas on reaching a place in society where you receive the honors long due you. Your words represent wisdom, knowledge and understanding. This poem is a marvelous masterpiece!

  2. Pingback: Sharing work! January 19, 2015 | The Write Edge Writing Workshop

Leave a Reply

