Home » Flash Fiction » 52 Flashes of Fiction: Week 19 – I Hate Writing Stories

52 Flashes of Fiction: Week 19 – I Hate Writing Stories

I hate writing stories; God, I really do. But I write them anyway because I think I hate myself. Or the idea really appeals to me to get good at something that I hate doing, better than other people who actually like doing it. I’m a sick freak.

Stories are hard, man. It’s not like poetry- poetry’s a big stinking cakewalk of flowers compared to stories because with poetry everything’s interpretive. If your poem sucks people will still make allowances for metaphoric creative nonlinear expression and all that, and most likely they’d rather assume that they just don’t get it than come right out and say they don’t like it. But with stories there’s more logic expected of you, more of a reason for someone to spend twenty or thirty minutes connecting with your characters and such. A story doesn’t cut you any slack.

It’s tough to write anything in prison, especially with a crowd of people outside throwing chicken bones and cabbage heads. They’re yelling for poetry but I don’t write that anymore. I write stories now. They promised that I’d be safe from the chopping block as long as I keep the people in poetry but I’d rather not. I write stories now. It won’t be long.

3 thoughts on “52 Flashes of Fiction: Week 19 – I Hate Writing Stories

  1. You truly hit the nail on the head with “most likely they’d rather assume that they just don’t get it than come right out and say they don’t like it”. Felt that too often, and it is obvious though people wish to be as noncommittal as they intent to stay kind but it hurts. And, I am still unsure what to do about such indicators, try harder or give up? But, I am curious? Is this post a story or a poem? Because there is a logic that is accessible like a story, and there is also metaphor [I think in the “prison” word [?]] with which to cut you some “slack.” Perhaps this shows hatred filtering through poetry and blossoming into a love for stories…? If that is too Harlequin romance just throw it back but I am not about to believe anyone who can reach readers so cognitively is a “freak.”

  2. What you’ve got to do when you read my fiction is take me out of it. It’s not really me! I like to think of this piece in literal terms, knowing that readers will try to find poetic, figurative meaning. But actually I think there’s more meaning behind the literal situation: the difference between what an artist can do and what they want to do.

Leave a Reply

