Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 133 – Evil Spirits

Year 2: Day 133 – Evil Spirits

Evil spirits in my oatmeal,
stenches hiding in the back of my office;
there’s something very wrong in my days these days.

It was just last week that it was all copacetic,
it was just last week that something turned a corner,
that thing that borrowed my glasses
and gave them back a different shade.

It’s like coming out of an illness,
it’s like waking out of a long, deep sleep
and wondering what in the world happened
while you were out.

Suddenly none of this is okay anymore
and it’s the best true I’ve had in a while.

Suddenly I’m a big fish and there’s
a whole lot more gettin’ to get,
so I’ll take evil spirits-
I’ll gather them up in my hot air balloon
and ride spite to the edge of the world.

One thought on “Year 2: Day 133 – Evil Spirits

Leave a Reply

