Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 142 – You Look Exhausted

Year 2: Day 142 – You Look Exhausted

8 o’clock on a Thursday, baby,
you look exhausted.

Baby, I always look exhausted.
Don’t call me baby.
I am exhausted.

8 o’clock on a Thursday, honey,
don’t you have work in the morning?

Don’t call me honey and
are you concerned for that?
What’s a short-term man like you
got to mind about me?

They say I got defense mechanisms
but how about if I really was
just tired-
would you send me off to bed,
would you tuck me in-
baby, what could you do
about an exhausted woman?

(Tell her she looks it)

One thought on “Year 2: Day 142 – You Look Exhausted

  1. I read it 3 times. I will probably read it again. It is very interesting. But I am not sure why. Maybe because I hate it when people tell me I look tired? Or how defensive I am in general?

Leave a Reply

