Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 155 – Life Is Too Vibrant

Year 2: Day 155 – Life Is Too Vibrant

Life is too vibrant
for the cherry-hued boob tube;
I want blues and greens.
It’s too brilliant to stuff in my handbag
from what I can tell;
I want the rust-colored gunk
that grows in the cracks of my heart
on a petri dish in my hand,
in a snow globe on my desk.
Life’s too lawless to stand in a row
and be pixelated for my understanding;
I want the colors of chaos splashed on my shoes,
painted on my face, written on my window.
I want riotous purples and ravenous reds.
I want gravel-tone teardrops
just because they exist,
the kinds that scratch your eyes
when they bleed their way out
but leave you with sight for ghosts
and music and colors that aren’t there.
Life’s too much to fit inside a kaleidoscope;
I want the colors and shapes they leave out.

4 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 155 – Life Is Too Vibrant

Leave a Reply

