Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 157 – You Don’t Dance

Year 2: Day 157 – You Don’t Dance

You don’t dance
and I want nothing to do
with you.
You say I’m too harsh
but I know all about you.
You wouldn’t cut a rug
with a pair of scissors.
You’d never follow the five-second rule.
You go to the gym,
you watch commercials.
You hold in your farts
and you work real hard
on your fantasy football team.
You care what strangers think
and you love girls in heels
because then they can’t dance
with you.
When you hear Raspberry Beret
you feel nothing,
and I want nothing to do
with you.
How would it be in ten years
if I wanted to dance
and you never did?
How could I face my family,
marrying a man
who doesn’t dance?
They’d write on our tombstones,
side by side,
“She loved to dance.
He didn’t.”
And my whole life wasted,
but I know what you are,
so I want nothing to do
with you.

5 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 157 – You Don’t Dance

Leave a Reply

