Home » Other Writing » Got Some ‘Splainin’ To Do (And Some News To Share!)

Got Some ‘Splainin’ To Do (And Some News To Share!)

I think it’s time I explain to my no doubt perplexed readers my somewhat erratic behavior of late: skipping poetry days, not writing any more short stories, suddenly developing an interest in rapping… I’ve been at a plateau for a while and this is my wonky way of squirming out of it, that’s all.

It’s been a weird, frustrating couple of weeks as I’ve been dealing with writer’s burnout as well as tenseness at work and some challenging new relationships. With regard to writing, I’ve been caught up in a cycle of trying to keep myself motivated and wondering why that’s so important in the first place. The one-poem-a-day disciplinary system I put myself on back in 2013 is just not working for me anymore, I don’t think. I’ve been reluctant to pull myself away from it because I don’t want to get lazy and end up not writing at all. But at some point I have to ask myself, “Is this goal serving me or am I serving it?”

Lately I’ve been dreading the sludge to the computer to write, and it’s more than just a matter of buckling down to eat my vegetables. It’s unnecessary torment because by now I know when I’m cranking out a mediocre product for the sake of getting it done and out of my hair. And I’m tired of doing that. I seldom have time to work on lengthier projects I truly care about because I’m stuck on this never-ending conveyor belt of what amounts to little more than pleasant writing exercises. I want to be in love with my writing again.

So I’ve been diddling around with this sortof laissez-faire attitude, just letting it come when it comes and only writing when and what I want to. I’ve been pleasantly surprised that my productivity hasn’t decreased too drastically, and I’m generally more satisfied with the things with which I’ve allowed myself to experiment. (Raps? Who would’ve thought, right?) Even better, it’s cleared room in my schedule to focus more on work, friendships, and general “chill-the-eff-out-Char” time. Turns out I’m a happier ladybug when not strapped to a desk chair ^_^

But what does this mean for you, dear readers? Only that we’re gonna have to make a swap deal: higher quality for lower quantity. I won’t be posting daily anymore, but know that it’s because I’m giving things time to breathe in a way that I haven’t so far. There are so many projects I want to tackle and life’s too short to sit around wishing I had the time, y’know?

Speaking of projects, I’m pretty excited about my newest co-author gig! Author Paul Morabito invited me to be a part of the Mirrored Voices: Best New Poets anthology which was released today, and I’m proud to be included in such a great compilation of talents. I’m ordering my copy today, can’t wait to read over 100 poems by today’s emerging poets (5 of which are mine!) Check it out!

mirrored voices

 

Blessings and happy reading,
Char 🙂

5 thoughts on “Got Some ‘Splainin’ To Do (And Some News To Share!)

  1. Great decision Charlotte! Quality over quantity any time! (saying this after just signing on for NaPoWriMo – but I have a different motivation for that! 🙂 Look forward to seeing more of your quality posts!

  2. I think that’s great, Charlotte. There’s no point persuing a goal when you realize you have either reached it (done the first year) or it is no longer valid.

    To be honest (and because I say things as they are), I wasn’t reading every poem anyway… There were just too many. And it felt like you were writing for you. Maybe now you have felt the urge to write for the reader… Hence the higher quality.

    I will continue to read the posts and look forward to what comes next!

    Best of luck!

  3. Charlotte:

    It is one of the great ironies of what we do: creativity will tolerate no restraint or regulation yet we must employ it on a regular basis. DO NOT APOLOGIZE for keeping your creativity, along with your love of writing, fresh within your soul! As writers, it is not enough to simply be in love with our writing. Mad, slobbering, hot, messy lustful PASSIONATE obsession is barely sufficient. Regardless of what you do or when, I enjoy your posts. We understand what it is to put inspiration on a schedule or creativity on a timetable.

    As far as being lazy… Even the hardest-core work addict needs a vacation. Even if only for a few days. I myself experienced this back in August…
    https://themoldyripegrape.wordpress.com/2014/08/15/i-am-groot/
    … and once or twice since then. So. Enjoy your ‘time off’ and take the time to smell the flowers, watch a movie and recharge your batteries. I promise you your love of writing is still there. It’s just sitting home alone waiting for you to come home from work!

    Cheers;
    -matt

  4. From early 1994 to late 1995 I wrote some 500 poems, published a chapbook, did readings, and generally figured my Muse wanted me to be a poet. In early 1996 my Muse went into her corner and pouted until I started writing stories and novels. She still lets me write poems occasionally but for the most part, her guidance leads me elsewhere. Maybe that’s the path you’re going down. I do know that with your sardonic sense of humour and story, you would write some amazing books, once you learned that side of the craft.

Leave a Reply

