Home » Poetry » Dearest

Dearest

I have been to the beach again, I’m afraid.
I have been to the beach again.
I have been to the nude beach with strangers again
and I haven’t told you until now.

Nor did I tell about the party last week,
you were invited but I didn’t tell.
They asked where you were and I told them that you
were having surgery on your heart.

I’ve been speaking to my exes, too, I’m afraid,
about books that you haven’t read.
I’ve been waking up early and taking the train
to cities that you’ve never been.

I’ve been sitting on park benches thinking of ways
to tell you how I will not change,
all the maddening kicks of resistance to combat
all the ways I feel myself change.

I have never felt guilty, never owed anyone
an explanation, never gave myself up,
never felt such a pull to keep my beaches and trains
as though they were slipping away.

Dearest, I have been to the beach again,
and I haven’t told you until now.
I’ve been keeping my secrets and my safety,
but Dearest, I have told you now.

5 thoughts on “Dearest

  1. I’ve been waiting for another poem from you. So far, you’re the best poet on Blogger I’ve seen, in my humble opinion. Your lines are well constructed it seems, as if you know poetic meter well, or at least infuse your lines with the right beats. They’re like ballad lines. I loved stanza 4, the tension and all. Good poem!

Leave a Reply

