Home » Poetry » Day 5 – There’s A Reason

Day 5 – There’s A Reason

There was a reason why I stayed
and a reason why you left.

There’s a reason why we thrive
in opposite climates.

There’s a reason you never
wanted to talk about,
a fear you never
wanted to feed.

I thought you were brave,
and I was small.

There’s a reason you couldn’t forget,
a reason your whiskey mouth speaks
when the rest of you can’t,
the reason I never come up
until you got trouble.

I thought, all that time,
it was you who watered seeds
but I erupted this garden alone.

And there’s a reason I don’t need
your apologies;
why you can’t forgive
yourself.

There’s a reason we ended up here:
I was never small,
and you were never brave.

Leave a Reply

