Home » Poetry » Day 12 – I Know Those Shores

Day 12 – I Know Those Shores

To hear you speak of
that place, it seems
familiar, I know
where that is-

I’ve been there many times;
I know those shores.

I know the bleak and
empty skies, the blank
expanse of old routine

I know the sands don’t change,
I know they’re tired.

The sea, for you,
must feel the same-
no warmth, no
bubbling trouble-

no movement anywhere,
no life to breathe.

It wasn’t long since
I left that place, and
I still return sometimes
so I

don’t mind to come sit with you
for a little while.

And we don’t need to speak,
only close our eyes.

And we both know those shores
will be gone in time.

 

Leave a Reply

