Home » Poetry » Day 13 – How Many Syllables in ‘Tokyo’?

Day 13 – How Many Syllables in ‘Tokyo’?

He asks if I can put down my phone
but I say it’s very important
what I’m looking up.

I have to find out
how many syllables
are in ‘Tokyo’.

He says that’s not very important
right now.

It isn’t.

But it is.

If I don’t find out,
and prove that some answers
can be found,
I’ll be left to face
some other things,
the answers I’ll never find

like why the fog comes.
Like why am I confused and angry
when nothing’s wrong?
Why do they call it a sickness sometimes
and others a snowflake complaint?

I’ll tell you what I know:

if you pronounce it in Japanese (To-kyo)
it’s two syllables,
but we Americans
pronounce it as three. (To-ky-o)

2 thoughts on “Day 13 – How Many Syllables in ‘Tokyo’?

  1. I love the concept of finding answers to small questions as proof that answers are possible; and it works so well with the imagery of the phone. I’ve bookmarked this and feel I may be quoting it in future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

